Philip Graves, Bella Bayliss Win Ironman U.K.

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Aug 2, 2009
  • Updated Apr 15, 2010 at 2:42 PM UTC

Bella Bayliss defended her title by leading virtually from start to finish, while Ironman rookie Philip Graves, 20, became the youngest Ironman champion in history with his wire-to-wire win over men’s defending champion Stephen Bayliss at today’s Ironman UK event in Bolton.

Ironman Uniked Kingdom
Bolton, Great Britain
August 2, 2009
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run


1. Philip Graves (GBR) 8:45:51
2. Stephen Bayliss (GBR) 8:48:29
3. Jarmo Hast (FIN) 8:57:58
4. Dejan Patrcevic (CRO) 9:00:20
5. Nicholas Peter Ward Munoz (ESP) 9:12:46

1. Bella Bayliss (SCO) 9:33:59
2. Abigail Bayley (GBR) 9:46:15
3. Irene Kinnegim (NED) 10:06:40
4. Karina Ottosen (DEN) 10:49:08
5. Julia Hild (GER) 11:13:15

FILED UNDER: Ironman / News / Race Coverage TAGS: / / / /

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Producer of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Get our best triathlon content delivered to your inbox

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete weekly newsletter