First-Ever Ironman 70.3 U.S. Pro Championship Attracts Top Field

  • By
  • Published Apr 22, 2010

The inaugural Ironman 70.3 U.S. Pro Championship will take place this Sunday, April 25 at the Ironman 70.3 Texas triathlon. The $75,000 prize purse has attracted athletes that likely originally didn’t have this race on their 2010 schedule.

At first glance of the start list it would be easy to call the two former Ironman 70.3 World Champions the favorites. Both American Andy Potts and New Zealander Terenzo Bozzone turned in top performances at last weekend’s Ironman 70.3 New Orelans, with Potts winning and Bozzone finishing in the runner-up position. The well-rested American Tim O’Donnell may be the favorite to take the title. O’Donnell is coming off of one of his most successful season to date, thanks in large part to the ITU Long Distance World Championship title he earned back in October. Another American, Chris Lieto, could also challenge for the title. While Lieto is known for his success at the Ironman-distance, he also consistently finishes on the podium in most Olympic-distance and half-Ironman distance races he enters. Other contenders include the United States’ T.J. Tollakson, Australia’s Richie Cunningham, Great Britain’s Paul Amey and New Zealand’s Bryan Rhodes.

While the women’s field is not as deep as the men’s, it does feature a couple of key players. The main contenders include Australia’s Michelle Jones and Pip Taylor, the Netherlands’ Yvonne Van Vlerken and the United States’ Joanna Zeiger.

See the professional starting list below:


Tim O'Donnell won the 2009 ITU Long Distance World Championship. Photo: Carr

Bruno Clerbout (BEL)
Stephen Kilshaw (CAN)
Richard Wygand (BRA)
Richie Cunningham (AUS)
Paul Amey (GBR)
Chris Lieto (USA)
Tim O’Donnell (USA)
David Kahn (USA)
Dirk Heinze (GER)
Terenzo Bozzone (NZL)
TJ Tollakson (USA)
Matt White (AUS)
Daniel Bretscher (USA)
Patrick Evoe (USA)
Tyler Butterfield (BER)
Brandon Marsh (USA)
Brent Poulsen (CAN)
Andy Potts (USA)
Chris Boudreaux (USA)
Bryan Rhodes (NZL)
Juan Carlos Ramirez (MEX)
Jeff Symonds (CAN)


Australia's Michellie Jones' last 70.3-win came at Ironman 70.3 Rhode Island. hoto

Angela Naeth (CAN)
Michellie Jones (AUS)
Malaika Homo (USA)
Heather Leiggi (USA)
Yvonne Van Vlerken (NED)
Kelly Williamson (USA)
Karin Thuerig (USA)
Kate Pallardy (USA)
Joanna Zeiger (USA)
Leanda Cave (GBR)
Jessica Meyers (USA)
Pip Taylor (AUS)
Amanda Stevens (USA)
Kim Loeffler (USA)
Andrea Fisher (USA)

FILED UNDER: Features / Ironman / News TAGS: / / / / / / /

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter