Three Former World Champs Set To Race In New Orleans This Weekend

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Apr 15, 2010
  • Updated Apr 15, 2010 at 3:24 PM UTC

Some of the sport’s top names are getting ready to open their season at Sunday’s Ironman 70.3 New Orleans. Only in its second year of existence, the Ironman 70.3 New Orleans triathlon has become one of the most popular races for both professionals and age-groupers. Despite missing both of its inaugural champions this year (Brent McMahon for the men and Natascha Badman for the women), the race has brought out a tough field on both the men’s and women’s side.

The 2010 version will bring what is likely a three-man race between three former world champions. 2007 Ironman World Champion Chris McCormack (AUS) will face off against 2008 Ironman 70.3 World Champion Terenzo Bozzone (NZL) and 2007 Ironman 70.3 World Champion Andy Potts (USA). While McCormack already has a few races under his belt for the year, this will be the first time we will see Bozzone and Potts taking the start line. Bozzone has been spending his off season in his native country of New Zealand, while Potts was forced to withdraw from Ironman 70.3 California due to the birth of his baby. Others looking to vie for the win will be American Ben Hoffman, New Zealand’s Bryan Rhodes, Luxembourg’s Dirk Bockel and Great Britain’s Paul Amey.

The women’s race is wide open with several top athletes making the start. The Netherlands’ Yvonne Van Vlerken, New Zealand’s Samantha Warriner,  and the United States’ Linsey Corbin, Dede Griesbauer, Heather Jackson and Amy Marsh could all contend for the title on Sunday.

See the complete start list below:


Chris McCormack has raced at Ironman China and the South Beach Triathlon so far this year. Photo: Nils Nilsen

1. Chris McCormack (AUS)
2. Terenzo Bozzone (NZL)
3. Andy Potts (USA)
5. Craig Twigg GBR
6. Ben Hoffman (USA)
7. Chris Boudreaux (USA)
8. Andrew Hodges (USA)
9. Balaczs Csoke (SUI)
10. Kyle Pawlaczyk (USA)
11. Christian Ritter (GER)
12. Graham O’grady NZL
13. Alex Mcdonald (USA)
14. Jeffrey Cutrer (USA)
15. Bryan Rhodes (NZL)
16. Frederick Van Lierde (BEL)
17. Jim Lubinski (USA)
18. Dirk Bockel (LUX)
19. David Castro Iglesias ESP
20. Philippe Kozub (USA)
21. Swen Sundberg (GER)
22. Paul Amey (GBR)
23. Jonas Colting (SWE)
24. Brandon Marsh (USA)

31. Yvonne Van Vlerken NED
32. Linsey Corbin (USA)
33. Amy Marsh (USA)

Yvonne Van Vlerken's last 70.3 win came at Ironman 70.3 Germany in 2009. Photo: Michael Rauschendorfer

34. Jolene Wilkinson (USA)
35. Samantha Warriner (NZL)
36. Heather Jackson (USA)
37. Anne Basso (FRA)
38. Meredith Kessler (USA)
39. Lauren Harrison (USA)
40. Jacqui Gordon (USA)
41. Dede Griesbauer (USA)
42. Deanna Newman (USA)
43. Caroline Smith (USA)

FILED UNDER: Ironman / News TAGS: / / / /

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Editor of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter