Reed, Dibens Win Nautica Malibu Triathlon

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Sep 12, 2010
  • Updated Sep 12, 2010 at 4:35 PM UTC

The United States’ Matt Reed and Great Britian’s Julie Dibens took victories at the Nautica Malibu Triathlon.

Reed started the day out strong by leading the men into T1 with a swim time of 20:03. He was followed closely by Scotland’s Fraser Cartmell. Reed used his momentum from the swim to cycle away from the competition. His 56:42 bike split earned him a lead heading onto the 10km run. Reed made it a nearly-perfect day, turning in the fastest run of the day and winning in 1:50:29. American Jordan Jones also turned in a fast run, earning second in 1:54:20. Cartmell earned the final podium spot.

Super swimmer Hayley Peirsol of the United States led the women’s race out of the swim. Dibens quickly caught her on the bike. Despite putting in massive training miles in preparation for her Ironman debut at October’s Ironman World Championship, Dibens found some speed on the run and earned the win in 2:00:59. American Rebeccah Wassner earned second, with XTERRA triathlete Lesley Paterson rounding out the podium.

Although the two faced very little competition in the professional sprint race on Sunday, Americans Chris Lieto and Laurel Wassner earned the short-course victories.

Nautica Malibu Triathlon
Malibu, Calif. – Sept. 11 & 12, 2010
.5-mile swim, 18-mile bike, 4-mile run

1. Matt Reed (USA) 1:50:29
2. Jordan Jones (USA) 1:54:20
3. Fraser Cartmell (GBR) 1:55:39
4. Mathias Hecht (SUI) 1:59:08
5. Joshua Merrick (USA) 2:00:50

1. Julie Dibens (GBR) 2:00:59
2. Rebeccah Wassner (USA) 2:02:36
3. Lesley Paterson (GBR) 2:06:13
4. Laurel Wassner (USA) 2:06:15
5. Hayley Peirsol (USA) 2:09:07


Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Editor of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter