XTERRA World Champs Set For Sunday

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Oct 23, 2010

The 2010 XTERRA World Championships are set to take place Sunday, Oct. 24 at the Makena Beach & Golf Resort in Maui, Hawaii, with pros vying for the title and the share of $105,000 of prize money.

Defending champions Julie Dibens of Great Britain and Eneko Llanos of Spain are the favorites with three wins each at this world championship event. Though the two are the front runners, both will be racing on tired legs after competing in the Ironman World Championships in Kona just two weeks prior. Their biggest competition will come from XTERRA all-stars Conrad Stoltz of South Africa and Melanie McQuaid of Canada. They will all be joined by a large group of pros made up of both off-road and road triathlon specialists.

Check back to on race day for a recap and photo gallery.

See the pro start list below:

Pro men by country:

USA – Lewis Elliott, Craig Evans, Trevor Glavin, Damian Gonzalez, Will Kelsay, Matt Lieto, Josiah Middaugh, Branden Rakita, Eric Sullivan, Cody Waite, Seth Wealing, Adam Wirth, Brad Zoller
AUSTRALIA – Chris Legh
AUSTRIA – Julian Langer, Michi Weiss
BELGIUM – Jim Thijs
BERMUDA – Tyler Butterfield
BRAZIL – Alexandre Manzan, Felipe Moletta, Frederico Zacharias
CANADA – Jordan Bryden, Mike Vine
CZECH – Jan Kubicek
FRANCE- Franky Batelier, Cedric Lassonde, Nico Lebrun
GERMANY – Ronny Dietz, Sebastian Kienle, Felix Schumann
GREAT BRITAIN – Sam Gardner, Ian Leitch, Asa Shaw
ITALY – Fabrizio Baralla, Fabio Giannini
JAPAN – Yu Yumoto
MEXICO – Francisco Serrano
NEW ZEALAND – Richard Ussher
SOUTH AFRICA – Dan Hugo, Conrad Stoltz
SPAIN – Ricard Calmet, Borja Conde, Eneko Llanos
SWITZERLAND – Olivier Marceau

Pro women by country:

USA – Katie Ellis, Emma Garrard, Kristy Lanier, Suzie Snyder, Sara Tarkington, Shonny Vanlandingham
AUSTRIA – Carina Wasle
BRAZIL – Daniela Machado, Isabella Ribeiro
CANADA – Christine Jeffrey, Danelle Kabush, Samantha McGlone, Melanie McQuaid, Marie-Helene Premont
FRANCE – Alexandra Borrelly, Sabrina Enaux, Marion Lorblanchet
GREAT BRITAIN – Julie Dibens, Darelle Parker, Emma Ruth Smith
NEW ZEALAND – Jenny Smith SAIPAN – Mieko Carey
SCOTLAND – Lesley Paterson
SWITZERLAND – Renata Bucher

FILED UNDER: News TAGS: / / / /

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Editor of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter