Chrabot, Petersen Win Miami International Triathlon

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Mar 20, 2011

American teammates and training partners Matt Chrabot and Jillian Petersen took the wins at the 2011 Miami International Triathlon. The event also served as the first-ever race of WTC’s 5150 Triathlon Series.

Despite the non-drafting rules of the race, the men’s race played out similarly to an ITU race. American Cameron Dye led the men out of the swim with a 1.5K time of 16:27. The lead didn’t mean much, as six men ran into T1 less than 10 seconds back of Dye. The competition was equally as close on the bike and it was clear the victory would likely go to the fastest runner. Chrabot’s 31:01 10K gave him a 26-second victory over ITU star Bevan Docherty of New Zealand. American Ben Collins earned third.

As is often the case in events she enters, American Sara McLarty dominated the swim to hold a large lead starting the bike. McLarty was the only female to bike the 40K in under an hour, giving her an even bigger lead starting the 10K run. The gap wasn’t enough as Petersen ran a 34:51 to pass her American teammate and take the 1:56:54 victory. McLarty cruised in for second. Another American, Kaitlin Shiver, was the fastest female runner of the day, earning third.

Miami International Triathlon
Miami, Fla. – March 20, 2011
1.5km swim, 40km bike, 10km run

1. Matt Chrabot (USA) 1:44:04
2. Bevan Docherty (NZL) 1:44:30
3. Ben Collins (USA) 1:44:40
4. Cameron Dye (USA) 1:44:48
5. Chris Lieto (USA) 1:44:50


1. Jillian Petersen (USA) 1:56:54
2. Sara McLarty (USA) 2:00:10
3. Kaitlin Shiver (USA) 2:01:07
4. Nicole Kelleher (USA) 2:01:14
5. Amanda Felder Derkacs (USA) 2:03:27

FILED UNDER: News / Race Coverage TAGS: / / /

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Editor of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter