Defending Ironman Champs Return To St. George

  • By
  • Published Apr 21, 2011

2010 champs Michael Weiss and Heather Wurtele return to St. George to defend their titles.

The second annual Ford Ironman St. George will kick off Saturday, May 7, pitting over 2,000 registered endurance triathletes against a 17-hour time limit to complete a 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike ride, and 26.2-mile run. Competitors ages 18 to 70 will be coming from 48 states and 36 countries to push their personal limits on a course many refer to as the most challenging of Ironman routes.

Men’s 2010 champion Michael Weiss returns this year, along with women’s 2010 winner Heather Wurtele. Other returning pros to watch for at this year’s event include Chris McDonald, who placed third at St. George in 2010, and Meredith Kessler, who finished second for women.

Read More: The Mainstreet Business Journal


Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter