Bracht, Bremer Win Final Ironman Of 2011

  • By
  • Published Dec 4, 2011

Germany’s Timo Bracht and New Zealand’s Michelle Bremer walked away with the last Ironman titles of the 2011 season at Ironman Western Australia in Busselton.

Australia’s Clayton Fettell carried the lead throughout the first two legs of the race thanks to a 45:11 swim and a 4:25:25 bike. Behind Fettell, Bracht swam and rode with the chase pack, exiting the bike in seventh position. As he always does, Bracht excelled on the run portion of the race. His 2:48:42 marathon was enough to push him past Fettell, giving him the victory in 8:12:39. Fettell finished second in 8:19:02. Third place went to Ironman veteran Jason Shortis of Australia.

For the women, Bremer’s first Ironman victory came thanks to a field-leading bike split of 5:00:37. Her 3:22:22 marathon and 9:25:38 finish time were narrowly enough to hold off Michelle Mitchell of Australia. Mitchell finished second in 9:28:07, with another Australian, Carrie Lester, rounding out the podium in third.

Ironman Western Australia
Busselton, Western Australia – Dec. 4, 2011
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run

1. Timo Bracht (GER) 8:12:39
2. Clayton Fettell (AUS) 8:19:02
3. Jason Shortis (AUS) 8:27:31
4. Josh Rix (AUS) 8:30:59
5. Aaron Farlow (AUS) 8:34:09

1. Michelle Bremer (AUS) 9:25:38
2. Michelle Mitchell (AUS) 9:28:07
3. Carrie Lester (AUS) 9:32:44
4. Elly Franks (AUS) 9:37:51
5. Hillary Biscay (USA) 9:39:41

Complete Ironman Western Australia results.

FILED UNDER: News / Race Coverage TAGS:

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter