Hy-Vee 5150 U.S. Championship Set For Sunday

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Aug 31, 2012
Photo: Paul Phillips/Competitive Image

Nearly 60 professional athletes will vie for the richest prize purse in the sport this weekend at the Hy-Vee 5150 U.S. Championship in Des Moines, Iowa. The pro start list features a combination of Olympic medalists, drafting specialists, non-drafting all-stars and long-distance standouts. Both defending champions, Sweden’s Lisa Norden and Australia’s Greg Bennett, are on the start list for Sunday. Norden, who earned the silver medal in the women’s triathlon competition in a thrilling sprint finish, will be joined by fellow London medalists Alistair Brownlee (GBR) and Javier Gomez (ESP).

While the Olympians will gain a lot of the pre-race attention, they will be racing in the unfamiliar non-drafting format. Non-drafting Olympic-distance specialists like Sarah Haskins (USA) and Cameron Dye (USA) may have the edge without the wear and tear of the Olympics in their legs.

Nearly every athlete on the pro start list is capable of taking a win on Sunday. See the complete start list below, and tune in to on Sunday at 1:30 p.m. CDT for live coverage of the women’s race and 4 p.m. CDT for the men’s race.

Each winner will take home $151,500 and, in one of the deepest payouts in the sport, each of the top-30 will earn prize money. Additionally, the race features “lap bonuses” with the first athlete across the “5150 line” on each of the 10 laps taking home an additional $5,150. In total, the race will hand out $1,109,00 in prizes. (See the complete breakdown here.)

PHOTOS: Hy-Vee Triathlon 5150 U.S. Championship

Filip Ospaly CZE
Tim O’Donnell USA
Greg Bennett AUS
Matt Reed USA
Jordan Jones USA
David Thompson USA
Clark Ellice NZL
James Seear AUS
Paul Matthews AUS
Joshua Amberger AUS
Benjamin Collins USA
Chris Foster USA
Cameron Dye USA
Stuart Hayes GBR
Travis Johnston ZAF
Mark Threlfall GBR
Ruedi Wild CHE
Tim Reed AUS
Csaba Kuttor HUN
Kaleb VanOrt USA
Michael Fox AUS
Kris Gemmell NZL
Ivan Kalashnikov RUS
Dylan McNeice NZL
Damian Hill USA
Chris McCormack AUS
Hunter Kemper USA
Tim Don GBR
Alistair Brownlee GBR
Javier Gomez ESP

Lisa Norden SWE
Alicia Kaye USA
Liz Blatchford GBR
Kelly Williamson USA
Sarah Haskins USA
Margaret Shapiro USA
Becky Lavelle USA
Laura Bennett USA
Daniela Ryf CHE
Radka Vodickova CZE
Angela Naeth CAN
Jodie Stimpson GBR
Jillian Petersen USA
Leanda Cave GBR
Annabel Luxford AUS
Laurel Wassner USA
Maria Czesnik POL
Nicola Spirig CHE
Lauren Brandon USA
Lucie Zelenkova CZE
Jenna Parker USA
Lisa Marangon AUS
Jennifer Tetrick USA
Amanda Felder Derkacs USA
Sarah Gray USA
Melissa Rollison AUS
Sarah Groff USA

RELATED: Hy-Vee To Host Olympic Medalists, Record Number of Racers

FILED UNDER: News / Race Coverage TAGS:

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Editor of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter