Ironman Announces 70.3 World Championship Start List

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Aug 22, 2012
  • Updated Oct 31, 2014 at 4:38 PM UTC
Photo: Nils Nilsen

The World Triathlon Corporation has released the start list for the 2012 Ironman World Championship 70.3, which will take place on Sunday, Sept. 9 in Henderson, Nev. This will be arguably one of the most competitive fields ever assembled for this race.

When the race took place in Clearwater, Fla. from 2006-2010, the race date was in mid-November and often included few athletes who had competed in the Ironman World Championship, which took place just a few weeks prior.

The race moved to the Las Vegas-area in 2011 and welcomed a new date, taking place in early September, about a month out from the big Kona race. Although several pros seemed hesitant to race both in Vegas and Kona, Australia’s Craig Alexander showed racing the double is doable by taking both titles.

With several pros letting go of the hesitancy to race in Vegas and Kona, the pro start lists are stronger than ever. Although several strong pro men will still not be making the start in Vegas, the women’s race is stacked and is only missing a couple of notable names.

Men’s Start List

The men’s pro race will feature returning champ Alexander. Alexander will have to deal with one major factor who was missing in 2011 in Michael Raelert. Raelert is a two-time 70.3 world champ himself and is undefeated at this race. This will be Raelert’s first attempt at this course. Other contenders include Tim O’Donnell (USA), Bevan Docherty (NZL), Richie Cunningham (AUS), Joe Gambles (AUS), Paul Matthews (AUS), Matty Reed (USA), Andy Potts (USA), Greg Bennett (USA), Filip Ospaly (CZE), Sebastian Kienle (GER) and last year’s third-place finisher Jeff Symonds (CAN).

The two notable names missing from this list are American Chris Lieto and Australian Chris McCormack. Lieto, who finished second at this race last year, has been battling an injury all year and will not make the start. McCormack is continuing to train for the Ironman World Championship and will race at the TriRock San Diego Triathlon on the same weekend as the Vegas race.

1. Craig Alexander (AUS)
2. Michael Raelert (GER)
3. Richie Cunningham (AUS)
4. Bart Aernouts (BEL)
5. Timothy O’Donnell (USA)
6. Joe Gambles (AUS)
7. Tim Reed (AUS)
8. Paul Matthews (AUS)
9. Paul Ambrose (AUS)
10. Matty Reed (USA)
11. Terenzo Bozzone (NZL)
12. Andy Potts (USA)
13. Greg Bennett (AUS)
14. Alessandro Degasperi (ITA)
15. Filip Ospaly (CZE)
17. Leon Griffin (AUS)
18. Christian Kemp (AUS)
19. Joe Umphenour (USA)
20. Clayton Fettell (AUS)
21. Sebastian Kienle (GER)
22. Ollie Whistler (AUS)
23. Jeff Symonds (CAN)
24. Tim Berkel (AUS)
25. Santiago Ascenco (BRA)
26. Kent Horner (ZAF)
27. Josh Rix (AUS)
28. Callum Millward (NZL)
29. Trevor Wurtele (CAN)
30. Rich Allen (GBR)
31. Josh Amberger (AUS)
32. Bevan Docherty (NZL)
33. Paul Amey (GBR)
34. Oscar Galindez (ARG)
35. Erich Felbabel (HKG)
36. Jos Jeuland (FRA)
37. Shanon Stallard (NZL)
38. Robert Wade (IRL)
39. Jordan Jones (USA)
40. Jesse Thomas (USA)
41. Balazs Csoke (HUN)
42. Mauro Cavanha (BRA)
43. Julien Biboud (CAN)
44. Matt Lieto (USA)
45. James Bowstead (NZL)
46. Faris Al-Sultan (GER)
47. Jack Smith (USA)

PHOTOS: 2011 Ironman 70.3 World Championship

Next »

FILED UNDER: News / Race Coverage TAGS:

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Editor of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter