Video: Sarah Groff Breaks Down Olympic Triathlon Racing

  • By Steve Godwin
  • Published Aug 2, 2012
  • Updated Oct 31, 2014 at 4:38 PM UTC

Excited for the Olympics, but don’t know a lot about the ITU style of racing? U.S. Olympic team member Sarah Groff explains the format.

The 2012 London Olympic triathlon will be made up of a one-lap 1.5K swim, a 43K bike (seven laps of a 6.137km course) and a 10K run (four laps of a 2.5km course). The race will be one of the only events that will allow non-ticketed spectators to see a good part of the action. The women race on Saturday, Aug. 4 at Saturday, Aug. 4 at 9 a.m. London time, which is 4 a.m. Eastern time and 1 a.m. Pacific time. See the television schedule here.

RELATED – Sarah Groff: From Beginner To Olympic Triathlete

For more from London, visit

FILED UNDER: Olympics / Video TAGS: / / /

Steve Godwin

Steve Godwin's Senior Video Producer Steve Godwin fits his training in by chasing elite triathletes around while carrying a camera. With over 15 years in TV, film and video, his specialty is creating original content in the running, triathlon and cycling space. Steve is an Ironman finisher and is looking forward to running his first NYC Marathon in 2015. Follow Steve on Instagram and Twitter @sgodwinfilms.

Related Videos