Finalists For Ron Smith Triathletes Of The Year Announced

  • By
  • Published Feb 4, 2013
Meredith Kessler and her coach Matt Dixon. Photo: Chad Riley

Triathlon Business International (TBI) today announced the finalists for its Ron Smith Triathlete of the Year Award. The male and female winner will be announced at the TBI/Active Network Awards Celebration dinner that will take place during TBI’s third annual conference Feb. 10-12 in San Diego, Calif.

The award, named after one of triathlon’s earliest pioneers, recognizes a male and female triathlete who best demonstrate a combination of strong moral character, athletic performance and professionalism in the sport of triathlon. The award acknowledges triathletes who are not only strong competitors, but also are a role model to all; and who help promote the sport and pave the way for future triathletes.

Nominations were solicited from event directors, media, and directors or owners of triathlon and related sport organizations and businesses. The following finalists were selected based on award criteria by a panel of TBI founding members, board members and representatives of the general membership.

Ron Smith Award – Female

  • Kathleen McCartney Hearst and Julie Moss
  • Meredith Kessler
  • Sarah Groff

Ron Smith Award – Male

  • Jordan Rapp
  • Andrew Starykowicz
  • Hunter Kemper

Learn more about the finalists at


Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter