Chasing The 2:40 Hawaii Ironman Marathon

  • By Kim McDonald
  • Published Mar 20, 2013
  • Updated Apr 1, 2015 at 4:04 PM UTC
Mirinda Carfrae and Leanda Cave. Photo: Aaron Hersh

The History of the Kona Run

A look back at how the run records have fallen

1978 Gordon Haller wins the first Ironman with a 3:30 marathon.

1981 Joe Kasbohm, a 19-year-old college student, runs 2:59:18, the first sub-3:00 marathon.

1983 Twin sisters Sylviane and Patricia Puntous both run 3:22 marathons to finish first and second.

1989 Mark Allen runs 2:40:04 and Dave Scott 2:41:03 during their famous Iron War, the fastest two times ever run in Kona.

1990 Erin Baker runs 3:04:14, the fastest time run by a woman in Kona, to beat Paula Newby-Fraser for her second Kona win.

1991, 1992, 1995 Mark Allen continues his streak of fast marathons in Kona, running 2:42 in each of those three years.

1996 Luc Van Lierde runs 2:41:48 to win the race.

1998 Defending Ironman Champion Heather Fuhr runs 3:04:02, breaking Baker’s record.

1999 In winning her fifth Kona title, Lori Bowden shatters Fuhr’s run record with a 2:59:16, the first sub-3:00 marathon by a woman.

2008 Chrissie Wellington and Sandra Wallenhorst break Bowden’s record with a 2:57:44 and 2:58:36 respectively.

2009 Mirinda Carfrae breaks Wellington’s record with a 2:56:51.

2010 In winning her first Kona title, Carfrae shatters her own record with a 2:53:32; Caitlin Snow runs 2:56:04, the fastest time for an American woman; Pete Jacobs runs 2:41:06, the third fastest ever run in Kona.

2011 For the fourth year in a row, the women’s record falls as a foot race between Carfrae and Wellington leads them to break it in 2:52:09 and 2:52:41, respectively.

How fast can they go? Dave Scott predicts the men could run 2:31-2:32 and the women, 2:43-2:44.

Fastest Kona Run Splits

Top 5 Men

2:40:04 Mark Allen (USA), 1989

2:41:03 Dave Scott (USA), 1989

2:41:06 Pete Jacobs (AUS), 2010

2:41:48 Luc Van Lierde (BEL), 1996

2:41:57 Olivier Bernhard (SUI) 1999

Top 5 Women

2:52:09 Mirinda Carfrae (AUS), 2011

2:52:41 Chrissie Wellington (GBR), 2011

2:53:32 Mirinda Carfrae (AUS), 2010

2:56:04 Caitlin Snow (USA), 2010

2:56:51 Mirinda Carfrae (AUS), 2009

RELATED: (Re)Making Mirinda

« Previous PagePages: 1 2 3 4 5

FILED UNDER: Features / InsideTri / Ironman TAGS: /

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter