San Diego Hosts Second Stop Of ITU World Triathlon Series

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Apr 18, 2013
  • Updated Apr 22, 2015 at 5:43 PM UTC
Photo: Delly Carr/

USA Triathlon Elite National Championships

The WTS race will also double as the official USA Triathlon Elite National Championships. The top-three Americans (male and female) will be awarded their share of an additional $10,000 prize purse.

Seven U.S. women will chase the elite national title Friday. Groff and Jorgensen are in search of their first elite crowns, while Beijing Olympian Julie Ertel enters the event as a two-time champion (2007, 2008). Anna Battiata, Brianna Blanchard, Kaitlin Donner and Katie Hursey also seek their first titles.

The men’s race features a trio of former USA Triathlon elite national champions in Matt Chrabot, Hunter Kemper and Jarrod Shoemaker. Kemper owns a U.S. men’s record seven elite national titles with his most recent victory coming in 2011. Shoemaker won the 2010 and 2012 titles, while Chrabot was victorious in 2009. Rounding out the U.S. men on the start list are John Dahlz, William Huffman, Joe Maloy and Tommy Zaferes.

RELATED: ITU WTS San Diego Will Double As U.S. National Championship

« Previous Next »

FILED UNDER: News / Race Coverage TAGS:

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Editor of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter