Cameron Dye, Nicky Samuels Win 30th Anniversary Of Columbia Triathlon

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published May 19, 2013
  • Updated Nov 6, 2013 at 2:01 AM UTC

Olympic-distance specialists Cameron Dye (USA) and Nicky Samuels (NZL) shined at the 30th anniversary of the Columbia Triathlon in Ellicott City, Md.

First-year pro Hunter Lessi was the first out of the water with a time of 17:12. Dye and most of the remaining contenders exited the water one minute back of Lessi. As he always does, Dye excelled on the Olympic-distance non-drafting bike course, posting a bike split of 56:17 to head into T2 in first position. He had fellow strong cyclist Andrew Yoder (USA) right on his heels, with two-time Olympic medalist Bevan Docherty (NZL) in hot pursuit. Dye backed his strong swim and bike splits with a respectable 35:02 10K run split to hold off a fast-running Docherty. He crossed the line in 1:51:02 to defend his 2012 victory. Docherty turned in the fastest run split of the day to finish second, with Yoder holding off recent Ironman 70.3 St. George winner Brent McMahon for the final podiums spot.

Two New Zealand ITU specialists, Anna Cleaver and Samuels, were the first pair out of the water with swim times of just over 19 minutes. Cleaver appeared to be working hard on the bike with Samuels not far behind when she suffered a mechanical and pulled out of the competition. With Cleaver no longer serving as competition, Samuels took over the top spot. She biked her way to a strong split, finishing the cycling portion in 1:03:57. She backed up that strong bike ride with an even more impressive run. The 36:40 10K run split was easily enough to give her the 2:01:39 victory. Ironman veteran Meredith Kessler (USA) shined in her Olympic-distance debut, finishing second with strong splits across swim, bike and run. Canadian Angela Naeth rounded out the top three.

Columbia Triathlon
Ellicott City, Md. – May 19, 2013
1.5K swim, 40K bike, 10K run

1 .Cameron Dye (USA) 1:51:02
2. Bevan Docherty (NZL) 1:52:23
3. Andrew Yoder (USA) 1:52:49
4. Brent McMahon (CAN) 1:53:13
5. Tom Davison (NZL) 1:53:29

1. Nicky Samuels (NZL) 2:01:39
2. Meredith Kessler (USA) 2:04:04
3. Angela Naeth (CAN) 2:07:43
4. Radka Vodickova (CZE) 2:08:07
5. Laurel Wassner (USA) 2:08:15

Complete results.

Our Twitter followers are the first to know about the latest in triathlon news. Follow us now @Triathletemag.

FILED UNDER: News / Race Coverage TAGS: / /

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Editor of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter