Rapp, Kessler Highlight Ironman Arizona Start List

  • By Bethany Mavis
  • Published Nov 14, 2013
  • Updated Feb 5, 2014 at 12:38 AM UTC
Photo: Paul Phillips/Competitive Image

This Sunday, more than 50 male pros and 35 female pros will compete for their share of a $75,000 prize purse and points toward the 2014 Ironman World Championship at Ironman Arizona. With neither 2012 IMAZ champion, German Nils Frommhold or American Linsey Corbin, returning to defend their titles, the wins are up for grabs. The race will welcome 3,000 age-group athletes competing for 50 Kona qualifying slots.

The course features a single-loop, 2.4-mile swim in Tempe Town Lake, followed by a sometimes challenging (it can get very windy) three-loop, 112-mile bike course that passes through the Sonoran Desert. The two-loop marathon course is new for 2013 and takes place around Tempe Town Lake and Papago Park. The course is known for being flat and fast, and spectator-friendly.

Pro Race
In the men’s race, highlighting the start list is American Jordan Rapp, who has five Ironman titles to his name, including a 2009 Arizona victory. Rapp will be looking for some redemption after a DNF on the Big Island a month ago when he realized he had stopped sweating during the marathon. He’ll have some tough competition among the list of pro men, including Hungary’s Jozsef Major, a nine-time Ironman champ who’s finished behind Rapp in other Ironman races—Major finished fourth in Rapp’s 2012 Ironman New York victory, and third at 2012 Ironman Texas where Rapp also won. Another top competitor is Spain’s Victor Del Corral, who set the course record at Ironman Florida just two weeks ago with his 7:53:12 finish. Other men who could vie for a spot on the podium are Trevor Wurtele (CAN), Pedro Gomes (POR), Matt Reed (USA) and 2013 Alpe d’Huez champ Ritchie Nicholls (GBR).  Also notably racing is former ITU athlete Matt Chrabot (USA), who won Ironman 70.3 Austin a few weeks ago and will be making his Ironman debut.

In the women’s race, American Meredith Kessler highlights the women’s field—she’s a multiple Ironman champion and has raced this course the last several years, including a runner-up finish behind Corbin last year. She also earned a seventh-place finish at the Ironman World Championship this year. Her toughest competition will come from Ironman champion Michelle Vesterby of Denmark, who finished eighth in Kona last month. Heleen bij de Vaate (NED) has had a quiet few years of racing, but won this event in 2008. Other women who could easily vie for a spot on the podium include Amanda Stevens (USA), Jessica Meyers (USA), Sarah Piampiano (USA) and Sara Gross (CAN).

RELATED – Course Recon: Ironman Arizona

Pro Men
Jordan Rapp (USA)
Jozsef Major (HUN)
Pedro Gomes (POR)
Trevor Wurtele (CAN)
Matthew Russell (USA)
Matt Reed (USA)
Jonathan Shearon (USA)
Patrick Wheeler (USA)
Jozef Vrabel (SVK)
Matt Chrabot (USA)
Denis Chevrot (FRA)
Ritchie Nicholls (GBR)
Anthony Toth (CAN)
Dan McIntosh (USA)
Luke Way (CAN)
Logan Franks (USA)
Chris Bagg (USA)
Joe Umphenour (USA)
Richard Wygand (USA)
Bryan McCrystal (IRL)
Richard Whitfield (GBR)
Jeff Tarkowski (USA)
Jim Lubinski (USA)
Pierre-Yves Facomprez (FRA)
Patrick Schuster (USA)
Raul Furtado (BRA)
Marc Duelsen (GER)
Todd Skipworth (AUS)
Victor Del Corral (ESP)
Brendan Naef (CAN)
Jared Milam (USA)
Allen Gardner (USA)
Nick Baldwin (SYC)
Gabriele Mazzetta (ITA)
Jarmo Hast (FIN)
Jon Woods (NZL)
Heinrich Sickl (AUT)
Jens Petersen-Bach (DEN)
Andrew Russell (CAN)
Marrek Nemcik (SVK)
Ryan Cain (CAN)
Torsten Abel (GER)
Nicholas Ward Munoz (GBR)
Dantley Young (USA)
Christian Brader (GER)
Stephen Kilshaw (CAN)
Johann Ackermann (GER)
Josh Seifarth (CAN)
Jimi Minnema (USA)
Thomas Gerlach (USA)
Timo Gronlund (USA)
Robbie Wade (USA)
Lewis Elliot (USA)
Raymond Botelho (USA)
Josep Vinolas (ESP)
Horst Reichel (GER)
Erich Wegscheider (USA)
Matt Hanson (USA)
Jordan Bryden (CAN)
Jason Watson (USA)

Pro Women
Meredith Kessler (USA)
Heleen Bij De Vaate (NED)
Michelle Vesterby (DEN)
Lisa Ribes (USA)
Miranda Tomenson (CAN)
Lisa Mueller (USA)
Erin Young (USA)
Stephanie Jones (USA)
Camilla Lindholm (SWE)
Kristin Lie (NOR)
Asa Lundstrom (SWE)
Beth Shutt (USA)
Sarah Hankla (USA)
Mackenzie Madison (USA)
Nina Perkeman (ISR)
Uli Bromme (USA)
Jessica Meyers (USA)
Julia Gajer (GER)
Diana Riesler (GER)
Kate Bruck (USA)
Kristyn Tobey (USA)
Morgan Chaffin (USA)
Ann Ciaverella (USA)
Sarah Baker (CAN)
Sarah Piampiano (USA)
Eimear Mullan (GBR)
Julie Van Veelen (CAN)
Sara Gross (CAN)
Ariane Monticeli (BRA)
Steffi Steinberg (GER)
Christine Fletcher (CAN)
Tine Holst (DEN)
Trish Deim (USA)
Katja Konschak (GER)
Brooke Brown (CAN)
Amanda Stevens (USA)
Amy Forshaw (GBR)

RELATED PHOTOS: 2012 Ironman Arizona

Our Twitter followers are the first to know about the latest in triathlon news. Follow us now @Triathletemag.

FILED UNDER: Ironman / News / Race Coverage TAGS:

Bethany Mavis

Bethany Mavis

Bethany Mavis is the managing editor of Triathlete magazine. She's a mom, rec soccer player, multiple half-marathon finisher and is learning daily how to become a better triathlete.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter