Jurkiewicz, Lyles Win Final Ironman Of 2013

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Dec 8, 2013
  • Updated Feb 18, 2014 at 12:16 AM UTC

France’s Jeremy Jurkiewicz and the United States’ Elizabeth Lyles claimed the victories at the final Ironman of the year at Ironman Western Australia.

Jurkiewicz combined a 47:03 swim, a 4:29:17 bike and a field-best 2:48:18 marathon to earn the 8:08:16 win. Germany’s Markus Thomschke spent the day working through the field after a slower swim and earned second position eight minutes after Jurkiewicz crossed the line. Australia’s David Dellow, who missed out on the Ironman World Championship due to a race-week illness, was third into the finish chute. Germany’s Andreas Raelert was the heavy pre-race favorite after a DNF in Kona, but he struggled early in the bike and ultimately pulled out of the race.

Lyles put together a 57:11 swim, a 4:58:21 bike and a 3:00:37 marathon to narrowly finish under nine hours in 8:59:44. Germany’s Mareen Hufe dominated the bike, but couldn’t keep pace with Lyles on the run and earned second in 9:08:00. Australia’s Lisa Marangon rounded out the top three in 9:19:29.

Ironman Western Australia
Busselton, Australia – Dec. 8, 2013
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run

1. Jeremy Jurkiewicz (FRA) 8:08:15
2. Markus Thomschke (GER) 8:16:00
3. David Dellow (AUS) 8:19:09
4. Todd Israel (AUS) 8:22:38
5. Matty White (AUS) 8:25:28
1. Elizabeth Lyles (USA) 8:59:43
2. Mareen Hufe (GER) 9:07:59
3. Lisa Marangon (AUS) 9:19:28
4. Michelle Bremer (NZL) 9:25:57
5. Melanie Burke (NZL) 9:27:07

Our Twitter followers are the first to know about the latest in triathlon news. Follow us now @Triathletemag.

FILED UNDER: Ironman / News / Race Coverage TAGS: / /

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Producer of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Get our best triathlon content delivered to your inbox

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete weekly newsletter