Challenge Roth Announces Stellar Pro Field

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Apr 16, 2014
Photo: Steve Godwin

The July 20 race will welcome some of the top names in the sport.

Challenge Roth today announced the professional field for the iron-distance race, set for July 20, and it features some of the biggest names in triathlon.

Defending Challenge Roth champion Dirk Bockel (LUX) will return and he’ll face 2012 Ironman world champion Pete Jacobs, 2013 Kona runner-up Luke McKenzie, 2013 Kona fourth-place finisher James Cunnama (RSA), Eneko Llanos (ESP), Timo Bracht (GER) and Nils Frommhold (GER).

The women’s start list is highlighted by two-time Ironman world champion Mirinda Carfrae (AUS). Also set to race is 2013 Kona runner-up Rachel Joyce (GBR). Last year in Kona both went under nine hours, with Carfrae establishing a new Ironman World Championship course record. They’re two of the fastest athletes on the circuit, and they may be looking to break the iron-distance world record time of 8:18:13, which was set by Chrissie Wellington at Roth in 2011.

Three other top-10 finishers from last year’s Ironman World Championship will also be making the start. Yvonne Van Vlerken (fourth in Hawaii), Caroline Steffen (fifth in Hawaii) and Michelle Vesterby (eighth in Hawaii will all compete. Steffen and Van Vlerken went one-two at last year’s Roth event and know how to put together a fast race on this course.
The July 20 race will celebrate 30 years of triathlon in Roth. The spots for age groupers sold out in record time last year, with 5,500 athletes ready to compete. The race is an iconic event in the sport and usually sees over 200,000 spectators.

Check back for a complete pro start list.

FILED UNDER: News / Race Coverage TAGS:

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Editor of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter