Escape From Alcatraz Set For Sunday

  • By Bethany Mavis
  • Published May 29, 2014
  • Updated May 29, 2014 at 11:29 AM UTC
San Francisco serves as the background for this iconic swim. Photo: Rocky Arroyo

This Sunday, June 1, more than 2,000 athletes from more than 40 countries will compete in the 34th annual Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon in San Francisco. Considered one of the most well-known and prestigious races in the sport, Escape from Alcatraz is also known as one of the most challenging. It features a 1.5-mile swim in the chilly waters of San Francisco Bay, starting from a ferry near Alacatraz Island. The 18-mile hilly bike takes athletes through the picturesque Presidio, and an 8-mile trail run goes through Golden Gate Park and up the infamous Sand Ladder. The race will return to broadcast television this year, with a program that will feature race footage and behind-the-scenes interviews with pros. Catch the show on CBS Sports Network on Sunday, June 22. The course showcases the beauty of the city and usually features a competitive pro field.

RELATED PHOTOS: 2013 Escape From Alcatraz

Pro Race:
Olympians seem to excel on this course. In the men’s field, five-time Alcatraz champion (and former Olympian) Andy Potts (USA) will be returning to reclaim his title. He’ll face tough competition from two-time Olympic medalist Bevan Docherty (NZL), who has lost to Potts a couple of times on this course, as well as Olympian Matty Reed (USA). Kiwi Graham O’Grady will also return to improve on his 2013 runner-up finish.

The women’s race will also feature a competitive field, with American Heather Jackson returning to defend her 2013 Alcatraz title. She’ll be going up against two-time Ironman world champion Mirinda Carfrae (AUS), four-time Alcatraz champion and Ironman world champion Leanda Cave (GBR), and German Ricarda Lisk, who was third on this course last year.

Pro Men:
Josh Amberger (AUS)
Andrew Bauer (USA)
Jon Bird (CAN)
Eric Clarkson (USA)
Bevan Docherty (NZL)
Kevin Everett (USA)
Brian Fleischmann (USA)
Kyle Leto (USA)
Matt Lieto (USA)
Reeven Nathan (USA)
Graham O’Grady (NZL)
Andy Potts (USA)
Matty Reed (USA)

Pro Women:
Laura Bennett (USA)
Mirinda Carfrae (AUS)
Leanda Cave (GBR)
Emily Cocks (USA)
Erika Erickson (USA)
Jenny Fletcher (USA)
Caroline Gregory (USA)
Sarah Haskins (USA)
Heather Jackson (USA)
Ricarda Lisk (GER)
Jennifer Luebke (USA)
Sara McLarty (USA)
Radka Vodickova (CZE)
Charisa Wernick (USA)

Visit for more information.

FILED UNDER: News / Race Coverage TAGS:

Bethany Mavis

Bethany Mavis

Bethany Mavis is the managing editor of Triathlete magazine. She's a mom, rec soccer player, multiple half-marathon finisher and is learning daily how to become a better triathlete.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter