74 Pros Accept Ironman World Championship Slots

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Aug 14, 2014
Photo: John David Becker

Ironman today revealed that all 74 athletes who were offered slots after the first qualifying period ending July 27 officially registered for the 2014 Ironman World Championship. (Learn more about the qualifying process here.) The first round offered 40 men and 28 women, plus six automatic qualifiers (four men and two women) the opportunity to register and for the first time in the short history of the Kona Pro Rankings (KPR), every eligible pro athlete accepted his/her slot. Veterans Craig Alexander (AUS) and Cameron Brown (NZL) had previously said they were unsure about returning to Kona, but both accepted their entries.

The final 17 spots (10 men and seven women) will be handed out at the end of August. 2012 Ironman world champion Leanda Cave (GBR) is competing at this weekend’s Ironman Sweden and with that validation she will be offered an automatic qualifier spot along with that final group.

See the qualifying pros below:

Male Pros

Sebastian Kienle GER*
Frederik Van Lierde BEL*
Bart Aernouts BEL
Tyler Butterfield BMU
Timothy O’Donnell USA
Ivan Raña ESP
Luke McKenzie AUS
James Cunnama RSA
Jan Frodeno DEU
Terenzo Bozzone NZL
Victor Morales ESP
Andy Potts USA
Michael Weiss AUT
Joe Gambles AUS
Tim Van Berkel AUS
Igor Amorelli BRA
David Plese SVN
Marino Vanhoenacker BEL
Eneko Llanos ESP
Maik Twelsiek GER
Faris Al-Sultan GER
Cameron Brown NZL
Paul Matthews AUS
Andrew Starykowicz USA
Marek Jaskolka POL
Christian Kramer GER
Jeremy Jurkiewicz FRA
David Dellow AUS
Cyril Viennot FRA
Filip Ospaly CZE
Ben Hoffman USA
Nils Frommhold GER
Kyle Buckingham RSA
Dirk Bockel LUX
Romain Guillaume FRA
Marko Albert EST
Craig Alexander AUS*
Matthew Russell USA
Bevan Docherty NZL
Daniel Fontana ITA
Tim Reed AUS
Axel Zeebroek BEL
Boris Stein GER
Pete Jacobs AUS*

RELATED PHOTOS: 2013 Ironman World Championship – Men’s Race

Female Pros
Rachel Joyce GBR
Meredith Kessler USA
Liz Blatchford AUS
Caroline Steffen SUI
Mirinda Carfrae AUS*
Gina Crawford NZL
Yvonne Van Vlerken NLD
Caitlin Snow USA
Elizabeth Lyles USA
Linsey Corbin USA
Melissa Hauschildt AUS*
Catriona Morrison GBR
Mary Beth Ellis USA
Åsa Lundström SWE
Kristin Möller GER
Lucy Gossage GBR
Michelle Vesterby DNK
Jodie Swallow GBR
Natascha Badmann SUI
Julia Gajer GER
Lisa Roberts USA
Corinne Abraham GBR
Simone Brändli SUI
Amanda Stevens USA
Kimberly Schwabenbauer USA
Bree Wee USA
Jessie Donavan USA
Heather Wurtele CAN
Kelly Williamson USA
Katja Konschak GER

*Automatic qualifier

RELATED: 2013 Ironman World Championship – Women’s Race

FILED UNDER: Ironman / News TAGS: /

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Editor of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter