Challenge Bahrain Announces Early Pro Start List

  • By Liz Hichens
  • Published Aug 21, 2014
The entire Challenge Roth women's podium has committed to Bahrain. Photo: Paul Phillips/Competitive Image/@Compimagephoto

Challenge Bahrain today revealed the professionals that have signed on to compete at the Dec. 6 race, and the start list is one of the most impressive of the year over any distance. The half-distance race will feature a $500,000 prize purse and will welcome world champions, Olympic medalists and more well-known pros.

Ironman world champions Pete Jacobs (AUS), Mirinda Carfrae (AUS), Chris McCormack (AUS) and Leanda Cave (GBR) have all given the early commitment. Additionally, Ironman 70.3 world champions Sebastian Kienle (GER) and Michael Raelert (GER) will be competing. Short-course speed will also be on display with Olympic medalists Jan Frodeno (GER), Bevan Docherty (NZL), Lisa Norden (SWE) and Erin Densham (AUS) all adding their names to the start list.

“We are honored to host each and every professional triathlete to the Kingdom of Bahrain to participate in Challenge Bahrain, an event we are holding very dear in our hearts,” said Dr Saqer Al Khalifa, president of the Bahrain Triathlon Association, in the press release. “Having such a great lineup will most certainly bring us closer to our goals, to raise awareness of the importance and significance of having sports become an integral part of a person’s life in all global societies.”

“A field of this caliber is going to ensure Challenge Bahrain is one of the most memorable races of the year–and it’s open to everyone!” said Zibi Szlufcik, Challenge Family CEO. “Age groupers will race alongside the greatest and most inspirational athletes in our sport. Triathlon is the only sport on the planet where everyday people like you and me, regardless of ability, can share the course with the world’s best and Challenge Bahrain is the ultimate showcase of what makes this sport great along with its definition of quality leadership and warm welcome to all.”

The professional athletes confirmed to date for Challenge Bahrain are as follows:

Men – Pete Jacobs (AUS), Dirk Bockel (LUX), Sebastian Kienle (GER), Tim Berkel (AUS), Terenzo Bozzone (NZL), Timo Bracht (GER), Tyler Butterfield (USA), Frederik Croneborg (SWE), James Cunnama (RSA), Bevan Docherty (NZL), Tim Don (USA), Michael Dreitz (GER), Jan Frodeno (GER), Nils Frommhold (GER), Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS), Eneko Llanos (ESP), Chris McCormack (AUS), Luke McKenzie (AUS), Dylan McNeice (NZL), Tim O’Donnell (USA), Rasmus Petreaus (DEN), Michael Raelert (GER).

Women – Mirinda Carfrae (AUS), Rachel Joyce (GBR), Caroline Steffen (SUI), Nikki Butterfield (AUS), Leanda Cave (GBR), Erin Densham (AUS), Mary Beth Ellis (USA), Helle Frederikson (DEN), Lucy Gossage (GBR), Sarah Haskins (USA), Heather Jackson (USA), Rebekah Keat (AUS), Meredith Kessler (USA), Carrie Lester (AUS), Annabel Luxford (AUS), Michelle Vesterby (DEN), Radka Vodickova (CZE), Laurel Wassner (USA).

RELATED PHOTOS: 2014 Challenge Roth

FILED UNDER: News / Race Coverage TAGS:

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens

Liz Hichens is the Web Editor of She is an Ironman and marathon finisher and fan of all endurance sports.

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter