Escape From Alcatraz Announces 2016 Pro Start List

  • By
  • Published Mar 15, 2016
Both Eric Lagerstrom and Andy Potts will return for 2016. Photo: Rocky Arroyo/Endurapix

IMG announced today the pro field for the 2016 Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon, set to take place on Sunday, June 12. American Eric Lagerstrom, who claimed the 2015 title in a sprint finish with six-time winner Andy Potts (USA), will be back and he’ll once again face off against Potts. On the women’s side, 2015 champion Ashleigh Gentle (AUS) will not returnlikely because she’s focusing on a 2016 Rio Olympic bid. The women’s start list features a strong list of Americansincluding past champions Heather Jackson and Sarah Haskins.

“I am thrilled to be competing in this year’s Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon, the competition in the men’s pro field should be very exciting,” said 2015 Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon Champion Eric Lagerstrom in the press release. “Since this will be my second year competing, I now have a feel for the course which will help me anticipate race dynamics this year.”

RELATED PHOTOS: 2015 Escape From Alcatraz Triathlon

The opportunity to race at Escape from Alcatraz as a professional is by invitation only. See the complete start list below:

Josh Amberger (AUS)
Greg Bennett (AUS)
Kevin Collington (USA)
Cameron Dye (USA)
Ben Kanute (USA)
Max Fennell (USA)
Eric Lagerstrom (USA)
Mauricio Mendez (MEX)
Andy Potts (USA)
Matt Reed (USA)
Peter Robertson (AUS)
Drew Scott (USA)
Tommy Zaferes (USA)

Laura Bennett (USA)
Jenny Fletcher (USA)
Sarah Haskins (USA)
Lauren Goss (USA)
Heather Jackson (USA)
Lindsey Jerdonek (USA)
Holly Lawrence (GBR)
Magali Tisseyre (CAN)
Katie Zaferes (USA)

RELATED – Alcatraz On Strava: A Look At A Few Top Athletes’ Races

FILED UNDER: News / Race Coverage TAGS:

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter