Ironman Announces 125 Kona Legacy Winners

  • By
  • Published Mar 25, 2016
Athletes compete at the 2015 Ironman World Championship. Photo: Paul Phillips/Competitive Image

Ironman has announced the 125 athletes who have earned entry to the 2016 Ironman World Championship through the Ironman Legacy Program. The winners range in age from 25 to 64 and represent 17 countries.

Now in its fifth year, the Ironman Legacy Program has gives athletes who are loyal Ironman participants the opportunity to compete in the prestigious Ironman World Championship. To be eligible for selection athletes must have a) completed a minimum of 12 full-distance Ironman-branded races, b) have never started the Ironman World Championship, c) have completed at least one Ironman event in each of the 2014 and 2015 seasons, and d) be registered for an Ironman event in 2016.

“It is important for us to recognize and reward our most loyal and long-term athletes,” said Andrew Messick, Chief Executive Officer of Ironman. “Our Legacy athletes are the heart of our sport and are powerful ambassadors. Their loyalty to and love of Ironman is inspiring.”

See the list of winners at

RELATED: Ironman Outlines Kona Registration Opportunities

FILED UNDER: Ironman / News TAGS:

Sign up for our free e-newsletter, SBR Report!

Subscribe to the FREE Triathlete newsletter